Polish food is not something I know much about, so when our friends Simon and Vicki asked Liz and I if we wanted to go to Cafe Polonia we were excited to get a taste of it. Cafe Polonia is easy to get to either by train (pretty much right off the Andrew Square stop on the red line) or by car (right off 93), but also easy to walk directly by. It’s a small place, probably 15 tables, but that’s part of what gives it that cozy inviting charm. We stepped in and were greeted by the very attractive and very Polish waitress who showed us to our table.

100_0215

Herring in oil. The saltiness of the herring was offset by the sweetness of the raw onion. Usually I stay away from raw onion as it tends to linger on my breath longer than Liz would like. She claims I sweat onion for days. But this combination was tasty enough for me to sacrifice Liz’s affection for the short term.

100_0213

Blood sausage with caramelized onions. The sausage had an overwhelming smokiness that the onions helped to temper, but there weren’t enough onions to go around and it became difficult to finish.

100_0216

Borscht. I like beets a lot. This was my first borscht and it was like beet heaven. A little dollop of sour cream thickened the soup a bit and cut the sweetness just enough.

100_0218

Polish plate.  The pierogi’s were…pierogi’s. Can’t really go wrong with a meat dumpling no matter what part of the world they are coming from. Same with the kielbasa. The stuffed cabbage on the right, on the other hand, wasn’t something I’d order again. Italian restaurants have a hard enough time making a tasty tomato sauce, something tells me the Polish aren’t going to solve that mystery. Prices are reasonable with appetizers around $10 and entrees around $15 and as you can see the portions are healthy. I regret not trying the potato pancakes as the waitress walked by with several orders which looked delicious, but that will certainly be on the agenda our next visit.

Cafe Polonia on Urbanspoon