We went back to Angela’s Cafe (their website does not come up on Google for some reason) with five friends the other week. We arrived a bit on the early side (6:15) and were lucky to be seated immediately, though the owner suggested that we should make reservations in the future since they usually can’t accommodate such a large walk-in party on Saturday nights.  I was under the impression that they didn’t accept reservations. Who knew. On the whole everyone enjoyed their meal, and I can once again confidently endorse Angela’s. The guacamole and all the Antojitos that I’ve tasted (which I think is all of them by now) are delicious and I think it’s well worth the trip to just dine on that. But I do have a couple less than positive things to say. The meat used for the entrees is by far the worst part of the dining experience. Dry, dry, and dry. And tough. The first time I ate there I was willing to pass it off as a one-time mistake, but this time, having tasted at least three others’ meals as well, I’m leaning towards concluding it’s the norm. It’s such a shame since the sauces, particularly the mole, are so damn good. I’m hoping that my experience is an anomaly, so I look forward to proving my intuition wrong in the future. The other not so positive thing I have to say is less about the food and more about the direction I see the restaurant going. It seems as if Angela’s just realized that it’s the popular girl in high school. Puberty dealt it a winning hand and it went from that weird thing in the corner of the classroom to the confident and pretty center of attention. This isn’t all bad, as I’m sure a host of high school age boys can attest, but what ultimately is lost in such a transition is personality. Angela’s is getting a lot more attention these days and I hope that doesn’t translate into the metamorphosis of a charming and unique place to a shallow shell of its former self.

Having said that, here’s some of what we ate:

100_0021

Angela’s makes creamy and perfectly seasoned guacamole. The lime will ever so lightly tickle the back of your throat as the salt from the chip melts into the milky flesh of fresh avocado. Delicious. A perfect way to start the meal.

A perfect way to continue the meal is any number of the antojitos offered. I recommend a large number of them.

100_0022

In the front court we have the gordita with chorizo.  I loved it. I wanted to get to know it better. Take it out to cafe’s and movies, fight over it, sacrifice friendships for it, and ultimately live with its sweet and savory taste on my lips until I die. Fading back into the distance a taco al pastor and then something I don’t remember.

100_0028

Angela’s platter / Favoritas de Angela. I recommend sharing it with 1 friend as an appetizer. The menu says it serves 6-7 as an appetizer. Perhaps 6-7 dieting ballerinas.

100_0024

Above we have the enchiladas rojas y verdes.   Stuffed corn tortillas with shredded chicken, pork, or vegetables (onions, spinach, tomatoes, mushrooms, red and green pepper). Topped with sour cream, Mexican cheese, radish, onion rings, and a slice of avocado. Our friend Vicki thoroughly enjoyed it.

100_0025

The famous mole. The sauce was as good as last time, but the meat does not do it justice, as I mentioned. Below was another less than satisfying dish, again because of the meat. The  Adobo with pork. The sauce was tasty, though not as tasty as the mole, and it might be a bit overwhelming for an entree since it has a much stronger flavor.

100_0026

Below was the special of the night. A pepper stuffed with assorted chopped meat, nuts and fruit, battered and served over a light cream sauce and pomegranate seeds. It was very good, and quite unique.

100_0029

Angela's Cafe on Urbanspoon