Carlo has been my personal chef for about fifteen months now, and for the first 14 or so, I was totally content. He is a natural in the kitchen, producing his go-to delicious Italian food as well as experimenting with new flavors and techniques. Everyone should be so lucky as to have a chef like Carlo…

That said, lately I’ve been feeling a little…uncomfortable. The flavors are right, the textures are right, the concepts and execution are all perfect. I just couldn’t figure out what could be wrong with something so seemingly spot on. Gourmet Magazine has provided me with an answer. Carlo is not plating things correctly. Take our meal last night, for example. Carlo made a roasted ham (part of the Meat of the Month Club) and served it with crispy sweet potato “fries”. All things considered, it was a tasty, satisfying Thursday night dinner that produced great Friday sandwiches. But yet, it failed. The sweet potato sticks were pointing right at me and came in an uneven number, causing a fight over the last one, and Carlo put sauce on top of the ham rather than under it! It was mortifying, and things have been tense at home ever since it happened. I am hoping that this article will help open communication and put Carlo on a path to redemption…